Going on a Food-cation!

I am so excited, after a long year, we are taking a much needed stress free family vacation.  We are so thankful to the Make A Wish Foundation for making it possible for us to go, and I know we will have an amazing time at Atlantis in the Bahamas!

Atlantis Resort, Nassau Bahamas

Aside from just plain needing to get away from it all, I am really excited about my upcoming food-cation at the Resort and on the Island. An opportunity to try new things, and see spectacular food presentations that I’m not faced with everyday.

I remember very vividly the first time I encountered a carved watermelon at a resort in Jamaica. It looked like such an amazing piece of art you would almost think it wasn’t real!  I have since seen YouTube videos demonstrating how it is done, and they can sure make it look easy, but I’m certain that if I should attempt something like that myself I would have watermelon mush, and a hot temper!:)

Carved Watermelon

There is always such a nice array of new foods to try that are native to wherever you are traveling.  Jamaica is known for it’s jerk chicken, and braised ox tail. Mexico had the most delicious fresh guacamole made right at our table, along with hand made tortilla’s, and fantastic cocktails.  But even within the U.S. you can find foods native to each state that they have made their claim to fame! Like Texas Barbeque, or Maine Lobster, and I even saw the Maize and Blue Deli in Ann Arbor, MI recently featured on an episode of the Travel Channels  “Man Vs. Food” (http://www.travelchannel.com/video/triple-play-reuben-sandwich) as a mid Michigan tradition on the campus of U of M!  Not to mention Jackson Michigan‘s own original coney island hotdog!!

Maize and Blue Deli, Ann Arbor MI
Jackson Coney Island est in 1914

No matter where your travels take you; take the time to smell the chili, or pie, or pasta, or burger…  You never know when you may find the one item that really makes your heart sing. Food can do that to you! I will blog all about my food-cation when I return, until then, Enjoy!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. aun says:

    have an excellent trip with the family. Sorry to hear about your accident, but glad overall that you are okay! Must have been scary thoughts going through your head as it happened… Love you guys.
    Aunt Barb

    1. cori bailey says:

      Thanks! I’m sore but doing ok. Not gonna let it slow me down!

Leave a Reply

