Bacon Day Rumors

I heard rumors that I missed bacon day! What a travesty, I should close up my baking blog, how could I have missed BACON day!!I’m not actually certain that I missed bacon day but if I did I am so sorry to all of my blog followers and I am here to make it right.

Bacon known for it’s salty, fatty, goodness is a US breakfast favorite, who can resist a perfectly cooked crispy piece of delicious bacon.  I’m not sure who first decided to use bacon in a sweet dessert like a cupcake but if I ever find out I’m writing them a lovely thank you note!

Don’t wrinkle your nose at the idea of a bacon flavored cupcake, imagine a pancake, with syrup and bacon in a cupcake wrapper with frosting.  On second thought that doesn’t sound so good either really, so just try this recipe, you can thank me later for opening your eyes to the wonders of the bacon cupcake.

Maple Bacon Cupcakes
Makes 6-8 / 350F oven

4 1/2 tablespoons butter, room temperature
1/2 tablespoon bacon drippings (left in the fridge to become solid)
1 egg, beaten
5 tablespoons brown sugar
4 tablespoons Grade B maple syrup
1 1/4 cup self rising flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
minuscule pinch kosher salt
1/4 cup whole milk
1/4 cup minced bacon, cooked and drained (extra for garnish, if desired)
large grain sugar (optional, for garnish))
flake salt (optional, for garnish)

1) Cook some bacon in a fry pan (about 6 thick strips). Reserve the drippings and place in the fridge to solidify. Mince 1/4 a cup of the bacon. The chef should eat whatever is left to assure that the bacon is tasty.

2) Beat the crud out of the butter and solidified bacon fat ’till light and creamy. Add the brown sugar and maple syrup and beat well until combined.

3) Add the egg and beat until incorporated.

4) Sift the flour, salt, baking soda and powder together. Seriously, do it. You want a fine crumb for this recipe.

5) Add 1/3 of the flour mixture and mix, then 1/2 of the milk, then continue to alternate the dry and wet ingredients, ending with the dry. Mix until just combined. Fold in the bacon.

6) Scoop into cupcake papers and bake at 350 F for 18-22 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Be sure to rotate the pan after the first 15 minutes for even baking.

Maple Syrup Frosting

4 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons Grade B maple syrup
1 cup of powdered sugar

Combine the syrup and butter until combined. Add the sugar, a bit at a time, and whip at high speeds until combined. Pipe or spread onto cupcakes. Sprinkle on flake salt and large grain  sugar or top with crispy shards of bacon for decoration and a lot of added flavor.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Bacon Day? What is this, and more importantly why haven’t I heard about it before?
    “Everything should taste like bacon”

    1. cori bailey says:

      I agree! Love me some bacon 🙂

Leave a Reply

