Surprise Summer Flavor

This week marked the birthday of a friend and colleague, her sister threw a surprise birthday party for her and asked me to make her birthday cake! What an honor.  I’m always surprised when people want me to bake for them.  Sounds silly I know because of the whole baking blog thing… but it’s sort of surreal that my hobby is enjoyed on that level by others.  What’s the word…. Oh yeah… gratifying! 🙂

So now to come up with the perfect cake for this party.  My friends sister really like the idea of a lemon cake as that is one of her sisters favorite flavors, and mine too honestly.  So, I was happy with the initial idea but I wanted to make it really special afterall planning a surprise party is a big undertaking, and I wanted the cake to be part of the memory for them.  So, I went where everyone goes now for inspiration and innovation like no other!!! I went to… Pinterest!

I f you have not yet participated in the single most wonderful waste of time that is Pinterest I suggest you do so, but not until you can be sucked into it’s time warp for at least an hour.  I swear time just fly’s by when I get on that site. 😉  So, I got online and searched Pinterest for lemon cakes and this is what I found….

And then there was… the most beautiful delicious looking lemon blueberry masterpiece and I knew that this was “THE” cake.  The fabulous surprise birthday party, memories are made here,  lemon blueberry cake!!

Now comes the great part about pinterest, not only can I save this to a favorite recipes board to refer to later but if I click on the picture and then click on the picture again it takes you to the author of the recipe in this case it came from http://www.sweetapolita.com a website I had visited before and somehow missed this marvel in cake! So I poured over her recipe and made a few changes and here is my recipe for a fabulous lemon blueberry cake!! Enjoy!

Lemon Blueberry Layer Cake

3 c. Flour

1/2 tsp salt

3 tsp baking powder

1c. + 2Tbsp Whole Milk

2 Tbsp. grated Lemon Zest

1 tsp. vanilla

1 1/2 c. granulated sugar

6 large eggs

1/4 c. lemon juice

2 pints blueberries

( Double this recipe to make 3 – 9 in. cake layers.)

Preheat you oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and Flour 3 – 9inch baking pans and set aside

In a medium bowl sift together flour, baking soda, and salt and set aside.  In a small bowl whisk together the milk lemon zest and vanilla and set aside.

In a large mixing bowl on medium speed beat butter and sugar until fluffy, and add in the eggs one at time incorporating well after each addition.  Once all of the eggs are incorporated begin to add the wet and dry ingredients in 3 batches starting and ending with the dry ingredients.  Blend together well, and add 1/4 cup lemon juice at the end and blend well.

Pour 1 cake pan worth of plain batter into one of the prepared pans, and then fold the blueberries into the remaining batter.  Once the blueberries have been added pour remaining batter into the two remaining prepared pans.  Bake 30-40 minutes, once lightly brown and a toothpick inserted comes out clean remove the cakes to wire racks to cool completely.

Lemon Buttercream Frosting

1 cup room temperature butter

5 cups confectioners sugar

1 tsp vanilla

juice of 1 lemon

1 Tbsp lemon zest grated and finely chopped

Mix all ingredients together until well blended and refrigerate for 10-15 minutes before spreading onto the cake.   Make sure that your cake is completely cooled!! Buttercream frosting has a primary ingredient of butter and we all know what happens to butter when it gets warm… it MELTS! ( Yup, been there done that, ha ha!)

Here is a picture of my version of this great cake, I added some additional blueberries to the top for decoration, it was a hit! Enjoy!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Brittany says:

    Thanks so much for the mention! Your cake looks fabulous 🙂

    1. cori bailey says:

      Thanks for checking it out! I really enjoyed your blog so I’m happy to share! 🙂

  2. leonardva says:

    Hi, that looks so good! I bet the frosting was awesome! I love a light lemon flavor!

    1. cori bailey says:

      Honestly probably one of my best recipes for lemon frosting, the cream cheese one that I have listed with my red velvet recipe back in January though is my most requested! Glad you like it!

Leave a Reply

