Comfort Food

I’m having a rough week. Not only did I turn 37 on Sunday but I finally admitted that I’m no longer 29. Tough stuff; I know. 

More importantly though. Tomorrow September 2nd…just hours away…is my son Logan’s 16th birthday. I wish this were upsetting for the obvious; “my babies growing up reasons”. But instead this is his first birthday in heaven… We lost Logan on October 31st 2015 after a five year battle with brain cancer. There have been only a handful of truly tough days and not one day that I don’t think of him. I’m just having a rough day.

I’ve decided a little comfort food is in order. Tonight for dinner I made cheesy potatoes with ham. A warm creamy meal that hits the spot and keeps my hands busy in the kitchen, bringing me a little peace and zen.

4large potatoes thinly sliced

1/2 of a medium onion diced

1 clove garlic 

2Tbsp olive oil

1c. Heavy cream

2c. Shredded cheddar cheese

1c. Diced ham

Salt and pepper to taste.

Once sliced boil potatoes until slightly tender but not cooked through completed drain and set aside.

In a small sauce pan add onion’garlic’ and oil saute over medium heat until onion is translucent. Add cream and 1c of the cheese reserve the rest of the cheese for topping. Stir in medium heat until cheese is melted and sauce is creamy.

In a glass baking pan layer potatoes’ham and sauce until all are incorporated and then top with the remaining cheese. Bake uncovered at 375F for 25min or until cheese Browns. 

Tomorrow is a day to remember and celebrate, and that is just what we’ll do. Happy Cooking Everyone!

Leave a Reply

